Interview with Bethany Jane Askew

Author of The World Within

Bethany Askew is the author of eight novels: The Time Before, The World Within, Out of Step, Counting the Days, Poppy’s Seed, I Know You, Don’t I?, Three Extraordinary Years and The Two Saras (Runner Up in the Bookends Prize, Lakeland Book Of the Year 2021)
Bethany likes to write about women’s lives, their role in society, their position as wife and mother and the impact of marriage, children and divorce on family dynamics.
Two further women’s fiction novels are due to be published in 2022 and 2023 and she is currently working on a new one.

Bethany lives in Somerset where she was born and brought up. She is married and has four grown-up children and seven grandchildren. In her spare time she enjoys reading, listening to music, walking, the theatre, voluntary work and dancing.

Buy this book

Authors – click here to learn about Profile


Set in the 1970s, a time when it was socially unacceptable to be an unmarried mother, this is the story of eighteen-year-old Jemma who has to make a life-changing decision when she finds out she is pregnant.
Trapped at home with a baby, intellectually stifled and missing all her friends who have gone away to study, Jemma seems to have made the wrong choice.
But has she?
In another version of events we see what might-have-been.
This look at alternative reality will leave you wondering if you would be any happier if your life had taken a different course.